INC Presidential Election: Finally, Shashi Tharoor and Gandhi’s-Backed Mallikarjun Kharge will square off.

INC Presidential Election: According to sources, Mallikarjun Kharge is set to step down as Leader of the Opposition in the Rajya Sabha in accordance with the Congress’ “one person, one post” policy.

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now
Instagram Group Join Now
INC Presidential Election

INC Presidential Election: Gandhi’s Candidate’s Entry

Mallikarjun Kharge, the Gandhis’ candidate for Congress president, has entered the race in New Delhi. Political veteran Digvijaya Singh decided against running, making Shashi Tharoor the other front-runner.

Mr. Kharge, who announced his candidacy today, is apparently intending to quit as Leader of the Opposition in the Rajya Sabha in conformity with the Congress’s “one person, one job” philosophy.

Some of the well-known people who have backed Mr. Kharge for the election include former chief ministers Bhupinder Singh Hooda, Digvijaya Singh, and Prithviraj Chavan, former defense minister AK Antony, spokesman AM Singhvi, and former Union minister Ajay Maken.

INC Presidential Election: Shashi Tharoor Files Nomination Too

Even Mr. Tharoor submitted his nominations today before the deadline of 3 pm. The third candidate in the race, former Jharkhand minister K N Tripathi, has also submitted his paperwork. After meeting with Mr. Kharge this morning, Digvijaya Singh, who picked up his candidacy papers yesterday, withdrew from the race.

After a late-night meeting, reports claim that Congress veteran KC Venugopal told Mr. Kharge that the leadership wants him to run, despite the Gandhis’ declaration that they would be impartial.

The position of Congress President is uncontest. According to sources, the Gandhis may choose to abstain from voting in the internal election in order to retain their impartiality.

G-23 Leaders Support

Bhupinder Singh Hooda, a prominent figure in the “G-23” group of dissidents who in 2020 issued a bombshell letter to Sonia Gandhi seeking organizational changes, has reportedly backed Mr. Kharge for the top position.

Ashok Gehlot, the chief minister of Rajasthan, withdrew from the contest after expressing regret to Sonia Gandhi yesterday for the rebellion of his ally MLAs in Rajasthan.

Mr. Gehlot was seen as the Gandhis’ top choice for the role prior to the mutiny by his followers who claimed they would not accept Sachin Pilot, who had revolted against him in 2020, as his replacement as the Chief Minister.

The Congress claims that Sonia Gandhi will make a decision about Mr. Gehlot’s future as chief minister of Rajasthan soon.

Since more than 20 years ago, non-Gandhis have not run for president of Congress. Due to the Gandhis’ decision not to run, other skilled party officials are now in charge.

Read: US Visa Issue For Indians: Over a two-year wait for a US visa in New Delhi, but only two days in Beijing

Axpert Media News Desk
Axpert Media News Desk
Axpert Media News Desk is an Internet media Website and our goal is to reach out People all over world with News, Informations & Entertainment. Ect, founder & ceo Krishnaanand

Latest articles

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here