IPL 2023 Orange Cap, Orange Cap Holders Check Updated List IPL 2023

The Orange Cap is a special honor given to a batter in the Indian Premier League (IPL). It is presented to the player who scored the most runs in that season’s Indian T20 League.

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now
Instagram Group Join Now

In IPL 2023, the player with the highest number of runs at the end of the season will be given the Orange Cap. Since the start of the IPL in 2008, the Orange Cap has been one of the most recognizable trophies handed by the organizers. 

Read More : – SRH vs MI Dream11 Prediction, Team, Fantasy Cricket Tips, Match-25, Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Mumbai Indians Dream11 Match Prediction

Orange Cap Facts

  • Shaun Marsh (616 runs in 11 matches in 2008) became the first recipient.
  • Virat Kohli has the record for the most runs scored in a single IPL season (In the 2016 edition 973 runs).
  • David Warner has the record for the most Orange Cap Wins (3).

Rules for IPL 2023 Orange Cap

  • The Orange Cap prize goes to the IPL season’s top run-scorer.
  • The batter who has the Orange Cap during the season may wear it on the field throughout games as long as he is the tournament’s leading scorer.
  • When two or more batters have a tie on runs, the batsman who has the higher strike rate wins the Orange Cap.
  • In the case that an opposition batsman surpasses the current holder’s count, the prior holder is allowed to keep the Cap until the end of the innings in which another batter surpasses him.

Do Super Over runs add to the Orange Cap?

When the two sides’ scores have been leveled at the completion of the 40-over game, the Super Over is played. However, batters’ runs are not recorded in the Orange Cap list and are not tallied in the player’s IPL lifetime runs. 

List of all IPL Orange Cap Winners

Shaun Marsh was the 1st one to get the Orange Cap. The Australian scored 616 runs and played for the Punjab Kings in the opening season of the IPL. Sachin Tendulkar is the first Indian player to receive the Orange Cap award in the IPL. The great cricketer made 618 runs in 2010.

Chris Gayle is the only player who has received the Orange Cap award twice in a row. In the editions of the IPL 2011 and 2012, the West Indian scored the most runs. In addition, Australian David Warner has been awarded the Orange Cap the most times (three). There are other winners Michael Hussey, Matthew Hayden, Virat Kohli, Robin Uthappa, Kane Williamson, and KL Rahul.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Ruturaj Gaikwad earned the Orange Cap award in the 2021 IPL. In the tournament, this right-hander scored 635 runs, with a strike rate of 136.27 and an average of over 45.

Jos Buttler earned the award for the first time in the IPL 2022, hitting 863 runs with a strike rate of 149.05. The IPL 2023 season started on March 31. The IPL 2023 schedule has been revealed.

Who are the leading contenders for the Orange Cap in the IPL 2023?

The Orange Cap is currently held by England hitter Jos Buttler. The Rajasthan Royals opener scored 863 runs in 17 matches at a strike rate of 149.05, which includes four hundred. Buttler is still the favorite to retain the Orange Cap, but he will face competition from KL Rahul, David Warner, Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya, and Shubman Gill.

Latest articles

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here