Asian Games 2023: Indian men’s cricket squad for Hangzhou includes Yashasvi Jaiswal and Rinku Singh

Ruturaj Gaikwad will lead the Indian men’s cricket team in the Hangzhou Games. 

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now
Instagram Group Join Now

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) revealed on Friday a 15-man Indian men’s cricket squad and five standby players for the forthcoming Asian Games 2023, which will be held in Hangzhou, People’s Republic of China, from September 23 to October 8.

The Asian Games 2023 men’s cricket event, which will be played in the T20 format, will take place from September 28 to October 8. All matches will be held at the Pingfeng Cricket Field at Zhejiang University of Technology.

With the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup commencing in India on October 5, India will field a primarily second-string side in Hangzhou, missing first-team regulars like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and others.

The Hangzhou-bound group, on the other hand, will include a number of potential young players, the majority of whom have excelled in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Ruturaj Gaikwad, 26, of the Chennai Super Kings of the Indian Premier League, will captain the Indian squad in the Hangzhou Asian Games.

Arshdeep Singh, the best wicket-taker for Punjab Kings in the IPL 2023, has been included to the squad. Yashasvi Jaiswal of Rajasthan Royals, who produced a century on debut in the present Test against the West Indies, was also named.

Rinku Singh, whose ferocious innings for Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL 2023 grabbed headlines this season, was also named to his first India squad.

For the first time, India has named men’s and women’s teams for the Asian Games cricket competition.

Cricket has previously been played at the Asian Games in Guangzhou in 2010 and Incheon in 2014. Bangladesh won the first tournament, while Sri Lanka is the reigning champion. Afghanistan finished second on both occasions.

Read More: Cristiano Ronaldo’s Al-Nassr Banned From Registering New Players After Failing To Pay Full Transfer Fee For Former Leicester Star Ahmed Musa

This is the men’s cricket team’s second appearance in a multi-sport tournament. The Indian men’s cricket squad competed in a 50-over format at the 1998 Commonwealth Games in Kuala Lumpur. However, the matches were not given international status and were recorded as List A games.

Indian men’s cricket team – complete roster at the Asian Games 2023

Ruturaj Gaikwad (captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rahul Tripathi, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wicket-keeper), Shahbaz Ahmed, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Shivam Mavi, Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Prabhsimran Singh (wicket-keeper), Shahba

Standby players: Yash Thakur, Venkatesh Iyer, Sai Kishore, Sai Sudarsan, Deepak Hooda, 

Axpert Media News Desk
Axpert Media News Desk
Axpert Media News Desk is an Internet media Website and our goal is to reach out People all over world with News, Informations & Entertainment. Ect, founder & ceo Krishnaanand

Latest articles

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here