England Releases Its ICC World Cup 2023 Lineup

The 15-player lineup for the ICC Men’s World Cup in 2023 has been released by the England Cricket Board.

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now
Instagram Group Join Now

On Sunday, England substituted Harry Brook for Jason Roy in the lineup for its 50-over World Cup championship defense.

Despite a succession of missteps in the most recent series against New Zealand, Brook, who was left off of England’s initial World Cup team, was selected.

But because of his performance in the Indian Premier League and with the Hundred, captain Jos Buttler has continued to back the 24-year-old, declaring last month that Brook’s options were still open.

Dawid Malan, who scored 277 runs in three one-day internationals against New Zealand and won player of the series honors, was also chosen to the team and is a strong candidate to start at first base for England.

Malan, 36, opened the batting against New Zealand in Roy’s absence owing to a back ailment, and he quickly reached 1,000 ODI runs, matching Kevin Pietersen and Jonathan Trott, doing so in 21 innings.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) Men’s Cricket World Cup Trophy on display during the 2nd ODI cricket match between West Indies and India, at Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados, on July 29, 2023. India will host the 13th edition of the ICC World Cup from 5 October to 19 November 2023. (Photo by Randy Brooks / AFP) (Photo by RANDY BROOKS/AFP via Getty Images)

England men’s national selector Luke Wright said in a statement, “We have selected a squad we are sure can go to India and win the World Cup.”

“Our team of white-ball players is tremendously strong, as seen by their efforts in the series victory over a very capable New Zealand squad.

“Due to the group’s strength, we were forced to make some difficult decisions regarding world-class players, with Jason Roy being left off and Harry Brook joining the team.”

In order to play more franchise cricket, Roy, who was a crucial member of the England team that won the 2019 World Cup, gave up his progressive contract with the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) in May.

Ben Stokes, an all-arounder for England and the test captain, is also back after changing his mind about leaving ODIs.

Stokes warmed up for the World Cup by slamming 235 runs in three innings against New Zealand. Stokes was a key player in England’s successful 2019 campaign on home soil.

This week’s third game included a knock of 182 from 124 deliveries, the best individual ODI score ever for England.

Despite having injury concerns, bowlers Adil Rashid and Mark Wood were both selected for the team.

Read More: Indian Sports Calendar in 2023: Events to Look Out For In Second Week of September

On October 5, in a rematch of the 2019 final, England will play New Zealand in the opening match of the tournament to start its World Cup campaign.

England team for the 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup

Jos Buttler (captain), Moeen Ali, Gus Atkinson, Liam Livingstone, Jonny Bairstow, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, Mark Wood, David Willey, Chris Woakes

Axpert Media News Desk
Axpert Media News Deskhttps://axpertmedia.in
Axpert Media News Desk is an Internet media Website and our goal is to reach out People all over world with News, Informations & Entertainment. Ect, founder & ceo Krishnaanand

Latest articles

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here